Accommodation hunting in Barcelona, not for the faint-hearted.

I just got a message from one of my friends Hanna, new to Barcelona. I thought I should share her on-going apartment hunting stories with you:

“To search accommodation in Barcelona, is interesting and scary at the same time. It is like this crazy jungle with weird renters, dirty apartments and strange living situations. Still I have to say it can be sort of interesting to see how people live. I met a lot of strange people this far on my search after the perfect place…. First we had the crazy German guy, with “adults” pictures and a list with twenty rules on the fridge. The rules was about cleaning, whose turn it was to use the remote control and that you had to pay him 6€ for every house guest (even if it only was a “friendly” nightvisit). Then we had the this annoying Spanish man with brown teeth. He thought it was a good idea to shoo in 6 persons in a tiny apartment. He even had turned the living room into a bedroom. I’m trying out the agencies now instead. Wish me luck.”

Haha. I love the apartment hunting stories. Do you have any?

~ by barca2and4elly on October 15, 2008.

2 Responses to “Accommodation hunting in Barcelona, not for the faint-hearted.”

  1. if i have!!! we ended up looking at like 3 apartments per day for weeks.. and i met all of the types. looking back at it now.. its pretty funny. it wasnt back then!!

  2. I went to see an apartment being rented by an Indian man in Raval. I was with my sister and all he did was stare at her and asked her the same questions over and over. He made her kiss him hello and good bye as well. The actual apartment wass like a hospital. There were people lying in beds eveywhere. There were about 15 people living in a 3 bedroom apartment. It was disgusting!!!!! It stank, it was dirty and there was no privacy what so ever.

Leave a Reply

 
