One out of four ain’t bad for Vicky Cristina Barcelona

I have to say I didn’t know that the  Golden Globes were on in Los Angeles on Sunday.  Seems only yesterday that last year’s award season was occupying all my time. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a few ball gowns….

So I was delighted to read this morning that Woody Allen’s film Vicky Cristina Barcelona won the award for Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy. Rebecca Hall, Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz were also nominated for acting awards, but all three failed to take a Globe home. I saw the film just after after I moved to Barcelona and it was amusing to see all the sights I had just visited on screen. Although in my view it was a bit unrealistic – staying in a villa, meeting Javier Bardem on the second day in the city… I was staying in a twenty-bed dorm with three of the loudest snorers I’ve ever had the pleasure to come across and they didn’t look remotely like Javier…

Winner of the 2009 Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy

Winner of the 2009 Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy


Off the topic of Barcelona, its good to see Heath Ledger awarded for his performance as The Joker in Batman – The Dark Knight, in many people’s opinions one of the great modern performances. I actually watched it the other night, and he really is the freakiest thing on Celluloid. Or maybe I should say Digitial. Ah well, you get the idea….

~ by barca2and4elly on January 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
